• Professor of Political Journalism, City University London
  • Research Professor in Media and Politics, University of Bedfordshire
  • Head of Department/ Professor in Dept. of Media & Communications Goldsmiths
  • College, London University


  • BA – University of Warwick, History and Politics
  • MA – University of Sussex, Labour Studies,
  • PhD – City, University of London, A Crisis in Political Communications? Reflections of a Critical Practitioner


  • Independent Editorial Adviser: BBC Trust 2012 – 2017
  • Jury Chair: One World Trust Annual Media Awards 2012
  • Jury member: Royal Television Society Television News Awards 2008, 2009, 2015 and 2016
  • UK Rep: on UNESCO’s International Programme for Development Communication
  • Member: Advisory Board, Media & Communications Dept., London School of Economics
  • Member: International Advisory Board, Centre for the Study of Global Media & Democracy
  • Vice Chair: Communications Sector, UK UNESCO National Commission (2001-11)
  • Member: UK Delegation to the UNESCO General Conference Paris 2001, 2003 and 2007
  • Member: Foreign & Commonwealth Office, Freedom of Expression Panel (2001-2004)
  • Advisory Council: Hansard Society for Parliamentary Government
  • Fellow of the Academy of Social Science
  • Fellow of the Higher Education Academy
  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts
  • Founding Chair: British Journalism Review
  • Editorial Board: Journalism Practice
  • Editorial Board: Journalism Education